True Beauty is Knowing You are Loved

SnoodlerellaI watched my first episode of Veggie Tales when I was babysitting my 17-year-old nephew. Of course, he was two at the time. He warbled the intro song, both the words he could pronounce and the ones he couldn’t. Since that time, I’ve loved the show. I’ve likely watched every episode .. or at least the vast majority of them.

Back then, I made the most of my babysitting days by watching the latest video they put out. These days, I use my kids as an excuse to watch them.

I have a few favorites.

“Lord of the Beans,” which follows the story of Toto Baggy-pants as he follows Grandalf’s leading to find a use for his One Bean, trying to steer clear of the evil influence of Scaryman all the while.

“King George and the Ducky,” a tale of a king too interested in his bathtub ducks to be concerned about the war going on in his kingdom. Then he spots another ducky, belonging to someone who has only that one, and treasures it. The king orders that individual to the front of the battle so he can claim his duck as his own. If the story line sounds familiar, you’ve likely read Second Samuel.

I recently saw a Veggie Tales video that was an instant favorite. It deals with an issue that affects me deeply. Beauty. Maybe it’s the detrimental effects of modern society’s view of beauty on young women (and men). Maybe it’s the fact that so much emphasis is placed on styles and clothing, glamour and glitter and that surface show that so few these days seem to understand what true beauty is. Maybe it’s because so many seem caught up chasing these pervasive (and fleeting) concepts of beauty that they never stop to hear the most important words that they might ever hear.

Words that might change their lives. Words that have changed mine. And yes, I heard the words in a kids’ video.

I’ve heard them in other places as well. In a song, “Beautiful” by Mercy Me, which I posted and wrote about last year. I also posted Bart Millard’s story about why he wrote that particular song. Famous actors, from Dustin Hoffman to Lupita Nyong’o, have spoken on the theme of true beauty. They all express, in their own way, how they came to understand what beauty is.

The Veggie Tales video, titled “Sweetpea Beauty,” begins with a narrative titled “Snoodlerella.” It’s about a girl with no sense of style. She has “glasses and braces, uncontrollable hair and cumbersome graces.”

In a moment of truth, she tells her stuffed animal, “I want to be noticed. I want to be cherished and treasured and loved.”

Then, of course, the berry godmother comes along and fixes her up. For once, Snoodlerella sees herself as beautiful. The godmother gives her a warning, “My work only lasts until midnight, my dear.”

Snoodlerella goes to the ball and has a blast dancing into the night. But she wonders, is she really beautiful. She didn’t feel “cherished or nurtured or loved.” Then midnight arrives all too soon, and her makeup and style dissolves. Once again, she is left with her “glasses and braces, uncontrollable hair and cumbersome graces.”

But out of the darkness, a figure appears and asks her for a dance. She thinks she’s a bad choice and tells him as much. “Who told you that?” he asks her.

“The whole world tells me so.”

The figure steps into the light. And it’s the King. He tells her,

“I think you’re beautiful. I treasure you deeply.
You’re lovely, My child.
I think you’re beautiful,
Your glasses and braces, uncontrollable hair and cumbersome graces.
And many more traits that I could speak of.
There’s nothing about you I don’t truly love.
You’re kind and you’re honest. You’re funny and smart.
You’re really quite charming. You have a good heart.”

“Your majesty,” Snoodlerella asks, a tear rolling down her cheek. “I’d like to believe you. Is that really true?”

“Of course it is true … every word that I say.
Daughter, I am the King, and I made you that way.
I delight in your beauty. You’re wonderfully made.
I knew you before this foundation was laid.
You’re precious to me, every hair on your head.
Daughter, hear and believe.”

Beauty. True beauty. Is knowing that you’re loved.

Love changes us in ways nothing else can. And loved by the King, wonderfully made for a unique purpose?

Somehow, it doesn’t matter at all what the whole world says. Has anybody told you “You’re Beautiful” recently?

If you don’t think so, listen for a moment to the voice of the King, the Creator. He made you beautiful. And you are precious to Him.

[And in case you’re interested in watching one of the most awesome Veggie Tales videos, you can find Sweetpea Beauty on Netflix.]

About Bonita Jewel

Bonita Jewel is an author and blogger who writes on a variety of themes, including: Literature & poetry https://danielandbonita.wordpress.com Writing https://awordfitlywritten.wordpress.com Parenting https://positiveparentingblog.wordpress.com Purpose https://apurposedlife.wordpress.com After living in India from the age of 16 to 28, she returned to California with her husband and three children. She is pursuing a Degree at Fresno State University. Bonita teaches community education at Clovis Adult. Her courses include Blogging Basics, Power Editing, Creative Writing, and Working from Home. She also freelances as an editor, ghostwriter, and writing coach. Her greatest passions are her family, her faith, writing, and reading. Bonita Jewel has been reading since she was 2 ½. Thirty years later, she still loves the magic and mystery of the written word. She is slowly breathing life into roughly 50 novels and nearly as many nonfiction works, depending on which plot or character seizes her interest at any given time. Please connect with Bonita at: https://www.facebook.com/BonitaJewelAuthor
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

