Made for So Much More

It had been a stressful couple of weeks. Facing deadlines in my work and college classes was enough of a challenge, but some personal issues had come up as well. An overwhelming feeling settled over my heart, like a dark shadow, sucking away the light and color from my world. My outlook morphed from hopeful and confident to hopeless and depressed.

Most of all, I felt like I was letting Him down. You know . . .  Jesus.

I clicked on a link that a friend had sent me, and a Youtube video popped up – a contemporary Christian band I hadn’t listened to much before.

“Days will come when you don’t have the strength,”

Got that right.

“When all you hear is, ‘You’re not worth anything,’
Wondering if you ever could be loved,
And if they truly saw your heart, they’d see too much.”

It was at this point that the tears began to flow. They didn’t stop through the rest of the song. Those opening words seemed to describe exactly what I was going through. If anyone had truly known what was going on in my mind and heart, I’m sure they would have been like, “Woah, okay! Too much information!” So I stuffed all these emotions deep down inside. There they waited … to hear the next words of the song:

“You’re beautiful.
You are made for so much more than all of this.
You’re beautiful.
You are treasured. You are sacred. You are His.
You’re beautiful.”

“Made for so much more.” For so long I had felt a deep feeling of purpose, a reason for living, a destiny. But recently all I felt was that I lost the trail. And my compass. That I was tracing circles through the shadows. The words of the song shone in my heart like the northern star on a misty night, inviting me to find my way once more.

“Before you ever took a breath,
Long before the world began,
Of all the wonders He possessed,
There was one more precious . . .
Of all the earth and skies above
You’re the one He madly loved
Enough to die.”

He did, didn’t He? The apostle Paul put it like this: “Long before he laid down earth’s foundations, he had us in mind, had settled on us as the focus of his love, to be made whole and holy by his love.”

“To be made whole and holy.”

As I listened to that song, not just once, but again and again, right after another that morning, I felt like I was being made whole.

By His love. The love that sees only beauty when we see nothing but a mess. The love that makes us beautiful, not because of who we are and what we do, but because of His light and love that recreates us.

“You’re beautiful.”

Those words were for me that morning. But not just me. They’re also for you. Take them as your own, hold them tight, and let them fill your heart with beauty.

“You are treasured. You are sacred.”

But most of all, “You are His,” and that’s what makes you beautiful.

About Bonita Jewel

Bonita Jewel is an author and blogger who writes on a variety of themes, including: Literature & poetry https://danielandbonita.wordpress.com Writing https://awordfitlywritten.wordpress.com Parenting https://positiveparentingblog.wordpress.com Purpose https://apurposedlife.wordpress.com After living in India from the age of 16 to 28, she returned to California with her husband and three children. She is pursuing a Degree at Fresno State University. Bonita teaches community education at Clovis Adult. Her courses include Blogging Basics, Power Editing, Creative Writing, and Working from Home. She also freelances as an editor, ghostwriter, and writing coach. Her greatest passions are her family, her faith, writing, and reading. Bonita Jewel has been reading since she was 2 ½. Thirty years later, she still loves the magic and mystery of the written word. She is slowly breathing life into roughly 50 novels and nearly as many nonfiction works, depending on which plot or character seizes her interest at any given time. Please connect with Bonita at: https://www.facebook.com/BonitaJewelAuthor
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Made for So Much More

  1. Pingback: In The Eye of the Beholder | What is the purpose of life?

  2. Pingback: In The Eye of the Beholder | Bonita Jewel's Weblog

Leave a Reply

